The Turkish Embassy in Canberra was inaugurated on 28 February 1967. The Embassy has been serving at“6 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT” since July 2006. The Turkish Defence Attaché’s Office has also been operational within the Embassy since 2004.

In addition to Australia; The Ambassador of the Republic of Turkey in Canberra is also accredited to the Republic of Kiribati, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Republic of Nauru, the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands and the Republic of Vanuatu. Consular services throughout Australia are covered by the Turkish Consulate Generals in Melbourne and Sydney. Turkey also has Honorary Consul inBrisbane, the Solomon Islands and the Marshall Islands.

Mission History:

The Turkish Embassy in Canberra was inaugurated on 28 February 1967. H.E. Mr Baha Vefa Karatay was the first Turkish Ambassador to Australia.

On the other hand, the Australian Embassy in Ankara started its operations on 23 April 1968. H.E. Sir Alan McNicoll, the first Australian Ambassador to Turkey, commenced his tenure on 25 August 1968.


Monday - Friday

09.00 - 12.30 / 13.30 - 17.30

3/13/2022 3/13/2022 Canberra Day
1/1/2023 1/1/2023 New Year's Day
1/26/2023 1/26/2023 Australia Day
4/25/2023 4/25/2023 Anzac Day
5/29/2023 5/29/2023 Reconciliation Day
6/12/2023 6/12/2023 King's Birthday
10/2/2023 10/2/2023 Labour Day
12/25/2023 12/25/2023 Christmas Day
12/26/2023 12/26/2023 Boxing Day